Hastings Public Library - Posts

Timeline photos

Join us February 7th @ 4:30pm to make light up Valentine's Cards! Mega Brain Kidz Club is for students 3rd - 5th grade. MBKC will be learning about simple circuits to create their light up card! Registration is required! Sign up at hastingslibrary.us
facebook.com17h

Timeline photos

Share in a magical evening with New York Times bestselling author Lana Harper as she discusses the enchanting third installment of her immensely popular "The Witches of Thistle Grove" series, "Back in a Spell." After a year of nursing a broken heart inflicted by the fiancée who all but ditched her at the altar, powerful witch Nina Blackmoore is sick of feeling down and ready to try something drastically different: a dating app. At her best friend Jessa's urging, she goes on a date with Morty Gutierrez, the nonbinary, offbeat soul of spontaneity and owner of the Shamrock Cauldron. Their date goes about as well as can be expected: awkward and terrible. But when Morty begins developing magical powers-something that usually only happens to committed romantic partners once they officially join a founding family-at the same time as Nina's own magic surges beyond her control, Nina must manage Morty's rude awakening to the hidden magical world, uncover its cause, and face the intensity of their own burgeoning connection. This spellbinding author talk will be available online on Thursday, February 9th at 6pm. To register, visit https://libraryc.org/cclsys.
facebook.com19h

Timeline photos

This week's Shelf Love features the humorous travel memoir "A Walk in the Woods" by reluctant adventurer Bill Bryson. The Appalachian Trail trail stretches from Georgia to Maine and covers some of the most breathtaking terrain in America–majestic mountains, silent forests, sparking lakes. If you’re going to take a hike, it’s probably the place to go. And Bill Bryson is surely the most entertaining guide you’ll find. He introduces us to the history and ecology of the trail and to some of the other hardy (or just foolhardy) folks he meets along the way–and a couple of bears. "Hilarious and witty, he makes what others would describe as a hellish physical exertion out to be nothing more than a "walk in the woods." #billbryson #awalkinthewoods #shelflove #bookrecommendations #nonfiction
facebook.com1d

A Spice Club member generously shared a recipe they created with January's spice, annatto seeds! Try it out, and don't forget to tag us if you do!🧂👩‍🍳🍽

A Spice Club member generously shared a recipe they created with January's spice, annatto seeds! Try it out, and don't forget to tag us if you do!🧂👩‍🍳🍽
facebook.com2d

Photos from Hastings Public Library's post

It was a super silly storytime at Itty Bitty Storytime this week in celebration of Belly Laugh Day! 😂 We read the golden sower book "On Account of the Gum" by Adam Rex and then made a silly character. Some kids were inspired by the story and put gum in their drawing's hair! 🎉
facebook.com3d

Timeline photos

Are you ready for Dog Man Day! Join us for a fun filled afternoon celebrating all things Dog Man! Bring a can of wet food to benefit local pets! See you, Saturday, February 4th @ 2pm in Meeting Room AB! Dog Man Day is for Kids K-5th Grade! Register online at hastingslibrary.us
facebook.com3d

Our "tree-mendous" is almost here! One week to go! Find out what the new program is next Wednesday, February 1st! We'll announce the details on Instagram and Facebook, so be sure to follow us if you're not already!

Our "tree-mendous" is almost here! One week to go! Find out what the new program is next Wednesday, February 1st! We'll announce the details on Instagram and Facebook, so be sure to follow us if you're not already!
facebook.com4d

Free tax clinic provided by United Way

Thank you KSNB Local4 for coming in to the library to talk about Tax Prep being held at the library! Patrons can call 211 to schedule Tax Prep Help! United way is hosting a free tax clinic for tax season.
facebook.com4d

Timeline photos

Introducing YAS! Young Adult Subscription Boxes! Each month you can sign up to receive a themed book, snacks, bookmark, stickers, and more! The books & physical box will need returned, but the treats & sweets are yours to keep! Sign up for February's Romance YAS Box today! https://hastingslibrary.librarymarket.com/event/yas-ya-subscription-box-romance
facebook.com4d

#CaughtReading in the Bathtub! What is your favorite memory of the library bathtub? 📚🛁🫧

#CaughtReading in the Bathtub! What is your favorite memory of the library bathtub? 📚🛁🫧
facebook.com4d

Timeline photos

This week's Picture This! features "Gold!", A riotous retelling of the Midas myth by the Caldecott Honor-winning and #1 New York Times bestselling author of "No, David!" David Shannon. Max Midas isn’t like the other kids. Instead of trying to make friends, he decides to make millions and spends it all on what he loves best: GOLD. Gold statues. Gold fountains. Piles and piles of gold, and atop them all, a golden castle. But one day, things get lonely inside his shiny castle and Max finally learns that gold isn’t worth anything without friends and family by your side. #gold #davidshannon #picturebooks #bookrecommendations
facebook.com4d

Timeline photos

Join us this Saturday for Cupcake Wars: Fast Food Edition! Theme your cupcakes around a local fast food joint! Cupcake Wars will be Saturday, January 28th @ 2pm! See you there! Cupcake Wars is for students 6th-12th grade! Registration is required. Sign up at hastingslibrary.us!
facebook.com5d

Timeline photos

This week's Shelf Love is a reimagined favorite titled "Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy" by Rey Terciero and Bre Indigo. It's "Little Women" with a twist: four sisters from a blended family experience the challenges and triumphs of life in NYC in this beautiful full-color graphic novel perfect for fans of "Roller Girl" and "Smile." "An absolutely beautiful adaptation of one of my favorite classic novels of all time!" Ellie, HPL Librarian #megjobethandamy #reyterciero #breindigo #littlewomen #graphicnovel #shelflove #bookrecommendations
facebook.comJan 20

Due to the ongoing inclement weather, the Hastings Public Library will be closed all day on Thursday, January 19th. The library will reopen on Friday, January 20th. All items due on Thursday are now due on Friday. Stay safe and warm!

Due to the ongoing inclement weather, the Hastings Public Library will be closed all day on Thursday, January 19th. The library will reopen on Friday, January 20th. All items due on Thursday are now due on Friday. Stay safe and warm!
facebook.comJan 19

Timeline photos

Due to inclement weather the Pre-K Pajama Party scheduled tomorrow is canceled. Check out our next family program February 4th! Dog Man Day will be epic!
facebook.comJan 18

The library will close today at 5pm. Stay safe and warm!❄️🌨

The library will close today at 5pm. Stay safe and warm!❄️🌨
facebook.comJan 18

Can you guess what's growing? Or are you "stumped"? Two weeks left! Our new program for early readers launches February 1st. Be sure to follow us on Instagram and Facebook for the big reveal!

Can you guess what's growing? Or are you "stumped"? Two weeks left! Our new program for early readers launches February 1st. Be sure to follow us on Instagram and Facebook for the big reveal!
facebook.comJan 18

Timeline photos

This week's Picture This! features "Stanley the Dog: the First Day of School" by award-winning radio and TV personality and beloved two-time New York Times bestselling author Bobby Bones. Illustrated with hilariously loving detail by Stephanie Laberis and inspired by Bobby Bones’s own real-life bulldog puppy, "Stanley the Dog: The First Day of School" will remind every reader about the challenges of trying new things and the value of staying true to yourself. #bobbybones #stanleythedogthefirstdayofschool #stanleythedog #stephanielaberis #picturebooks #bookrecommendations
facebook.comJan 17

Timeline photos

Spice up February with the deep, mildly sweet spice blend from the Middle East, called baharat! Register today on the online calendar for your spice kit! Pick up is the first Friday of every month!
facebook.comJan 13

Timeline photos

This week's Shelf Love features modern classic and winner of both the Carnegie and Newberry Medals "The Graveyard Book" by Neil Gaiman. Nobody Owens, known as Bod, is a normal boy. He would be completely normal if he didn’t live in a graveyard, being raised by ghosts, with a guardian who belongs to neither the world of the living nor the dead. "I would highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a complicated but fascinating read that will provide a new perspective on the dark concepts of death and the afterlife." Ellie, HPL Librarian #thegraveyardbook #neilgaiman #shelflove #bookrecommendations
facebook.comJan 13

Timeline photos

Join for what is sure to be the most fun-filled hour of the day as we chat online with Randall Munroe about his new book "What If? 2: Additional Serious Scientific Answers to Absurd Hypothetical Questions." The millions of people around the world who read and loved What If? still have questions, and those questions are getting stranger. Thank goodness xkcd creator Randall Munroe is here to help. Planning to ride a fire pole from the moon back to Earth? The hardest part is sticking the landing. Hoping to cool the atmosphere by opening everyone’s freezer door at the same time? Maybe it’s time for a brief introduction to thermodynamics. Want to know what would happen if you rode a helicopter blade, built a billion-story building, made a lava lamp out of lava, or jumped on a geyser as it erupted? Okay, if you insist. Filled with bonkers science, boundless curiosity, and Randall’s signature stick-figure comics, What if? 2 provides his best answers yet to the weirdest questions you never thought to ask. The fun begins at 1pm on Tuesday, January 31st. Please register at https://libraryc.org/cclsys on our online calendar to take part.
facebook.comJan 12

Karon & Heidi had a great time getting certified on our Heat Press in the PIXLab today! They are excited to make t-shirts for a family event! Interested in getting certified in PIXLab equipment? Make an appointment to be certified today! Stop on by for a tour of our many machines! #makerspace #makerlab #pixlab #heatpress #sublimation #library

Karon & Heidi had a great time getting certified on our Heat Press in the PIXLab today! They are excited to make t-shirts for a family event! Interested in getting certified in PIXLab equipment? Make an appointment to be certified today! Stop on by for a tour of our many machines! #makerspace #makerlab #pixlab #heatpress #sublimation #library
facebook.comJan 11